Rimbaud influence

“Gabriel Garzón-Montano Shares the True Meaning Behind His Debut Album Jardín” -OC Weekly, Denise De la Cruz

screen-shot-2017-02-17-at-2-14-10-pmPhoto credit: Gabriel Garzón-Montano’s Twitter page – @MrGabrieLorenzo

French singer Gabriel Garzón-Montano tells of an Arthur Rimbaud poem as inspiration for his album:

r1-mini  Why did you name your debut album Jardín?

I’ve never answered this way, which is the real way. It comes from a poem written by Arthur Rimbaud called Jardin de L’enfance which is “Garden of Childhood” [in French.] It’s an incredible poem and it’s definitely like a palette or a starting point for what I wish I could do or what I want my whole poetry/music realm to be. It’s just really juicy imagery with lots of plants, colors and things from all over the world and it’s like this kaleidoscope World’s Fair. I think I wrote that down because I thought it was a really cool name. Like, “Garden of Childhood” seems like a really great little universe to live in. I didn’t want to title something verbatim so I took the first word that seemed already potent enough, garden. Then I switched it to Spanish to further remove it from the original and “la tidle” (accent) shows up in my name in the “Ó” so it adds a little continuity and Bishouné also has it. r2-mini – OC Weekly, Denise De la Cruz

Read his whole interview at OC Weekly – http://www.ocweekly.com/music/gabriel-garz-n-montano-shares-the-true-meaning-behind-his-debut-album-jard-n-7865119

Leave a Reply

